Home 2017 Sportsmanship Award Winner Announced

2017 Sportsmanship Award Winner Announced

Chastity Young is the 2017 Sportsmanship Award winner. She will be recognized at the 2018 Spring Show and Three Year Old Futurity

Good sportsmanship is part of the tradition of equine events.  Whether it is following rules and playing fair at a horses show, lending a hand to a fellow trail rider, or treating fellow equestrians with respect and courtesy, MFTHBA members exhibit good sportsmanship on a daily basis.  The MFTHBA Sportsmanship Award was designed to recognize MFTHBA members who exemplify the principles of good sportsmanship and consistently put them into practice.

MFTHBA members nominated two outstanding members for the 2017 award:    Chastity Young and Alexis Zastoupil.  “Both of these ladies were commended for their help of others, and it made it extremely tough to choose a winner,” shared MFTHBA Membership Committee Chair, Amy Stangl.  While it wasn’t an easy task, the MFTHBA membership did in fact decide the winner of the 2017 Sportsmanship Award.

This year the MFTHBA will honor Chastity Young with the award.  Ms. Young’s nomination letter shared how she is “the first person to welcome someone who is new to the breed or the show ring to the world of Missouri Fox Trotters.”  The nomination letter also pointed out how Ms. Young “helped organize the showcase of the Versatility World Grand Championships in the front arena during the World Show and Celebration” in order to acknowledge the accomplishments of all competitors.

The MFTHBA appreciates all members who practice good sportsmanship.  Congratulations to Chastity Young on being recognized by the MFTHBA membership as the 2017 Sportsmanship Award winner.  She will be formally recognized at the 2018 Spring Show and Three Year Old Futurity this coming June.