Home Understanding the Versatility World Championship Competition

Understanding the Versatility World Championship Competition

The Versatility World Grand Champion competition is not a specific class, but rather a grouping of classes that make up a hi-point competition the results in the awarding of a World Grand Champion title.  In addition, there are sub-competitions that award Hi-Point awards in the specific grouping of classes.

Hi-Point Competition

There are three categories of versatility competition outlined in the MFTHBA Rule Book:  Versatility Pleasure Horse, Versatility Work Horse, and Versatility Speed Horse.  These three areas have their own set of classes that feed into their Hi-point award.

Versatility Pleasure Horse includes Showmanship, Western Pleasure, and English Pleasure.  Versatility Working Horse includes Reining, Western Horsemanship, and Trail.

Versatility Speed Horse includes Barrel Race, Stake Race, and Pole Bending.

In each area, hi-point awards are presented for Open, Open Amateur, and Youth.  These three competition areas feed into the overall Versatility World Grand Championship.

Based on this year’s schedule, the following classes will apply to the hi-point competitions:

Versatility Pleasure Horse

Showmanship:  Classes 15, 16, and 17

Western Pleasure:  Classes 18, 19, and 20

English Pleasure:  Classes 27, 28, and 29

Versatility Working Horse

Reining:  Class 24, 25, and 26

Western Horsemanship:  Class 27, 22, and 23

Trail:  Classes 44, 45, and 46

Versatility Speed Horse

Barrel Race:  Classes 47, 48, and 49

Pole Bending:  Classes 50, 51, and 52

Stake Race: Classes 53, 54, and 55

Versatility World Grand Championship

To be eligible for the Versatility World Grand Championship title, a horse must place in the top

10 in at least one three gait class in the Pleasure Horse division (i.e. either Western Pleasure or English Pleasure).  In addition, the horse must compete in at least one class in all three divisions (Pleasure Horse, Working Horse, and Speed).

An Open, Open Amateur and Youth World Grand Champion top 5 will be named with each horse receiving payback money.

The point system for the scoring is an escalating scale with the more horses in the class making the available points awarded higher.