Home Jester’s Charming Legend Named 2017 Breeding Sire of the Year

Jester’s Charming Legend Named 2017 Breeding Sire of the Year

Three-time MFTHBA Breeding Sire of the Year, Jester’s Charming Legend, is owned by Brian Oglesby of Perry, Missouri. Photo: Jester’s Charming Legend at the 2015 MFT Stallion Tour. Photo taken by Andy Odor.

The MFTHBA congratulates Jester’s Charming Legend on being named the 2017 Breeding Sire of the Year.  This is is the third year in a row in which Jester’s Charming Legend has been named the winner of this prestigious award.  Owned by Brian Oglesby of Perry, Missouri, this sorrel stallion has had an accomplished show career and has produced several champion offspring. Some of his notable show accomplishments include being the 2005 World Grand Champion Open 4 Year Old and the 2003 World Grand Champion Open 2 Year Old.  His many accomplished get include the 2011, 2012, and 2014 World Grand Champion Open 5 Years and Older. He was bred by Larry Robbins of Farmington, Arkansas.  Jester’s Charming Legend is sired by Traveler’s Jester and out of MFTHBA Hall of Fame mare Missouri’s Charming Princess M. (by Missouri Traveler E).

The MFTHBA thanks Mr. Oglesby for his contributions to the future generations of Missouri Fox Trotters through his stallion, Jester’s Charming Legend.  Jester’s Charming Legend and Mr. Oglesby will be formally recognized for this accomplishment at the 2018 Spring Show and Three Year Old Futurity.

The Breeding Sire of the Year award was established by the MFTHBA Membership Committee to recognize stallions providing significant impact to the continuation of the breed.  In addition, the award was designed to encourage foal registration in a timely manner, something that helps the MFTHBA in its task to preserve the registry of the breed.

The criteria for the award are simple:

  • All stallions who submit an on-time stallion breeding report are eligible.
  • The 2017 top 5 represent the stallions with the most foals born in 2017 and registered with the MFTHBA by December 31, 2017.