Home 2023 Caparison Ceremony

2023 Caparison Ceremony

2023 Caparison Ceremony

The Caparison Ceremony (or the riderless horse) is a single horse without a rider and with boots reversed in the stirrups. Annually, the Missouri Fox Trotting Horse Breed Association opens the Championship night show in this way to recognize and memorialize members of the Association whom have passed away since the last Celebration.

This year the horse wearing the Caparison was 2 time World Grand Champion, Traveler’s Back In Black owned and handled by Darrell Martin of Rolla, Missouri. Members’ names are read aloud as the horse and handler make rounds of the main arena.

The 2023 Caparison Ceremony called out the following names:

Rex Barham
Virginia Prock
David Rozzell
Carlene Jessop
Gobel Jessop
Melvin Stillwell
Don Smith
Anita Ragsdale
Claude “Shawnee” Ripley
Therese Murray
Bill Hinkebein
Harry Whitney Wright Jr.
Rick Watson
Kenneth Morrison
Harlin Johnson
Iva Lou Mizer
Judy Mathes
Julie Christiansen
Charles Green
Nadine Moeller
Rebecca Jennings-Spurlock
Bolivar MO
Ava, MO
Old Fort, NC
Cadiz, KY
Cadiz, KY
Mountain Grove, MO
Willard, MO
Peary, MO
Eldridge, MO
Kansas City, MO
Chillicothe, MO
West Plains, MO
Harrison, AR
Ozark, MO
Ava, MO
Lebanon, MO
Ava, MO
Wentsville, IL/Marthasville, MO
Elkland, MO
Kansas City, MO
Ozark, MO