Home 2019 Sportsmanship Award Winner Announced

2019 Sportsmanship Award Winner Announced

Pat AuBuchon, pictured with his wife Cheryl, is the 2019 Matthew Keeter Sportsmanship Award winner.

Good sportsmanship is part of the tradition of equine events.  Whether it is following rules and playing fair at a horses show, lending a hand to a fellow trail rider, or treating fellow equestrians with respect and courtesy, MFTHBA members exhibit good sportsmanship on a daily basis.  The MFTHBA Sportsmanship Award was designed to recognize MFTHBA members who exemplify the principles of good sportsmanship and consistently put them into practice.

MFTHBA members nominated two outstanding members for the 2019 award:  Pat AuBuchon and Dallee Porter. In both of the nomination letters, Mr. AuBuchon and Ms. Porter were recognized for their willingness to help and encourage others.  Both are definite qualities of true sportsmanship.

After voting from the MFTHBA membership, the 2019 Matthew Keeter Sportsmanship Award will be awarded to Mr. Pat AuBuchon.  Mr. AuBuchon’s nomination letter said:

It is probably rare for an “open” rider to be nominated for the Sportsmanship Award, but I can think of no better worthy candidate than Mr. Pat AuBuchon.  Pat has never trained a horse for me, but I can say that he is one of the reasons I remain in this breed.  His positive, encouraging attitude is infectious.  I can’t even count the times he has provided words of encouragement before and after I have entered the show arena.  He is always willing to help new riders.  Pat is instrumental in continuing to promote this breed within the St. Louis area and has spent days away from home conducting clinics for other affiliates.  It is people like Pat and his wife Cheryl that make this breed special.  As we look to honor someone that promotes fairness, respect for one’s opponent and is gracious in winning or losing, I nominate Mr. Pat AuBuchon.

The MFTHBA appreciates all members who practice good sportsmanship.  Congratulations to Pat AuBuchon on being recognized by the MFTHBA membership as the 2019 Matthew Keeter Sportsmanship Award winner.  He will be presented the award at the Spring Show and Futurity.