Home David Ogle Named 2018 Trainer of the Year

David Ogle Named 2018 Trainer of the Year

When the final calculations were completed for 2018, one trainer was at the top of the list.  That trainer is Mr. David Ogle of Ash Grove, Missouri.  This is the second time he has been named MFTHBA Trainer of the Year.  He was also named Trainer of the Year in 2013.

Mr. Ogle’s horses had a lot of success in 2018.  He trained the MFTHBA Spring Show & Futurity Youth 12-14 Champion, Mystical Phantom, ridden by Jamie Alford and owned by Dr. Julie Alford/Revocable Trust of Springfield, Missouri. Mr. Ogle trained and rode the Spring Show and Futurity Reserve Open 4 Year and Over Champion, King’s Creole Queen, owned by Becky Bailey of Russelville, Arkansas. At the Celebration, The Ava Tradition, owned by Jeff Shields and Maxcy Dimmick of Ash Grove, Missouri, placed third in a tough Amateur Owned Five Years and Older World Grand Championship class.  In all, horses trained by Mr. Ogle placed in 17 Futurity classes, Championship classes, and World Grand Championship classes.

The Trainer of the Year award was designed to recognize the achievements of professional horsemen and women involved in the Missouri Fox Trotting Horse Breed.  This past year the MFTHBA Membership Committee and Board moved to have the award based on the performance of those horses the trainer works with.

“In years past, the Trainer of the Year was based on nominations and voting by the membership.  Former MFTHBA President, Aaron Stanifer, and I discussed moving the award to more of a performance-based award.  This is something that the Membership Committee had been discussing for a number of years,” said Amy Stangl, MFTHBA Membership Committee Chairman.

A test run was conducted after the 2018 MFTHBA Spring Show and Futurity, and it was determined that it would be feasible to calculate the award in this manner.  The new Board approved the change at the November workshop.

“This year 28 trainers earned points towards the award in various disciplines:  versatility, model, and performance.  We are hoping to have even more trainers earning points in the near future,” added Stangl.  “The new database will eventually be able to calculate the award automatically, and it will allow us to include other events outside of the shows at Ava in the final award calculations.”

The MFTHBA is grateful to all the equine professionals that dedicate their lives to the Missouri Fox Trotting Horse, and the MFTHBA congratulates David Ogle on being named the 2018 MFTHBA Trainer of the Year.

Mr. Ogle will be formally recognized at the 2019 Spring Show and Three Year Old Futurity.

Rounding out the Top 10:

2. Mike Rutledge
3. Erin Patterson
3. Vance Vahle
5. Geno Middleton
6. Bryan Biggs
7. Josh Dampier
8. Jamie Johnson
9. Buck Thompson
10. Steve Dampier